Cost of a New Jersey Divorce

Among the many challenges of getting divorced is the cost that it entails. Individuals should speak with an intelligent lawyer about the cost of a New Jersey divorce before going through with the process. A hard-working divorce attorney could help you understand your rights and legal options while advocating for you. Call today and schedule a consultation.

Price of Getting a Divorce in NJ

The total cost of a divorce in New Jersey can vary from case to case depending on the issues involved, the acrimony between the parties, and the backlog in the court. Usually, a retainer amount is requested upfront by the attorney, who bills them hourly for the work. The retainer is akin to a deposit, which is utilized as the attorney performs work on the case. While the total costs may differ from case to case, individuals should always strategize with their attorney about the best ways to keep the case cost-effective.

The most efficient and cost-effective way to go through a divorce could be by resolving as many issues with the spouse as possible, trying to focus on the issues at hand, and not using the attorney to get back on the other person for emotional reasons. An uncontested divorce where the parties have already come up with their agreement could also keep the cost down.

Throughout the divorce process, if the individual needs money immediately, the attorney could always file a motion requesting interim relief from the court. Whenever there are motions filed during the proceeding, such factors could increase the cost since it requires work to prepare the papers to respond to the other side’s papers to go to court. The individual could also be called back to court several times. Since they must work within the time-table of the judge, a person could end up waiting in court for a significant time. People that are mostly amicable and come to quicker resolutions may be able to keep the cost down.

Potential Cost Incurred for the Divorce to be Recognized by the State

The costs involved in getting the divorce recognized by New Jersey includes filing fees. It costs $300 to file the complaint for the divorce. Individuals are also required to do a parent education class, which is about $25. If they file a motion during the case, that costs another $50 or so. The person seeking the divorce is responsible for covering the costs. For more information about the cost of a New Jersey divorce and how an attorney could help with keeping the costs down, call today.

Call a Lawyer Today About the Cost of a New Jersey Divorce

The financial cost of divorce must be contemplated before pursuing legal action. While the cost of a New Jersey divorce may arise in numerous forms, individuals could reach out to a hard-working attorney for a consultation. A skilled lawyer could provide the support and legal guidance you need. Reach out today to set up a discussion about your concerns.

What Sets Us Apart?

Integrity

We will make sure you have the necessary information to make an educated decision for your future.

Diplomacy

When you choose to work with us, you will receive the one-on-one personal service that you need.

Empathy

We understand that you may be suffering greatly from this process, and we'll provide the highest level of care and attention.

Advocacy

You need representation on your side that will fight to minimize any adverse effect of a verdict in your case.

Legal Knowledge

We limit our practice solely to family law so that we may provide a higher quality product to our clients.

Contact Our Attorneys Today

Start With A Free Case Evaluation

Contact Us
[contact-form-7 404 "Not Found"]